Volume 16 / Issue 8 - August, 2011
Did you send your email address? Please send your email address to: info@lakecountysafetycouncil.org

LCSC Program Committee Presents

Friday, September 16, 2011 Topic: Infectious Diseases and the Work Place SpeakerNancy Rodway, MD, MS,MPH - Lake Health-Medical Director, Occupational Health & Ambulatory Centers Time: 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Location: Holiday Inn Express Hotels & Suites LaMalfa Cost: $18 for members and $20 for non-members Pre-registration is required. No refunds
Friday, October 21, 2011 Topic: Preventing Slips, Trips and Falls SpeakerSteve Manning, Red Wing Shoes Time: 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. Location: Holiday Inn Express Hotels & Suites LaMalfa Cost: $18 for members and $20 for non-members Pre-registration is required. No refunds

The Hazards of Combustible Dust

The Lake County Safety Council is proud to present a program in August concerning a long overlooked danger...the hazard of combustible dust.

This danger has peaked the interest of OSHA, and Tom Kling, sales engineer for explosion protection systems for Corrosion Fluid Products, will present the program.

He will discuss, among other things:

-- What is combustible dust

-- How do you determine if you have combustible dust

-- Why is it so dangerous

-- What materials been shown to be explosive

-- And what equipment is associated with most explosions

The meeting is at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites LaMalfa on Friday, August 19.

Registration begins at 11:15 a.m.

The meetiing cost is $18 for LCSC members and $20 for non-members.

Reservations are required and may be made by going to the LCSC web site. The link is listed below.

Council Director Cliff Smith cliffsmithehs@componentrepair.com (440) 255-1793 Council Director Elect Position Open Council Secretary Position Open Past Director Chris Brill-Packard chris.brill-packard@lakehealth.org (440) 354-1933 Council Advisor Bob Siktberg bob_siktberg@lincolnelectric.com (216) 383-2141 Council Liaison Marie Pucak, IOM MPucak@MentorChamber.org (440) 255-1616 Steering Committee Dawn Johnston dawn.johnston@averydennison.com (440) 358-4646 Lee Silvi lsilvi@lakelandcc.edu (440) 525-7252 Dan Nichols dnichols@sfielectrical.com (440) 259-2000 Donna McCaskey dmccaskey@eagroupohio.com (440) 951-3514 Sue Fuerst sfuerst@painesville.com Mike Orlando morlando@aexcelcorp.com (440) 205-7317 Council Assistant Mark Wainwright mwainwright@mentorchamber.org (440) 255-1616 Ohio Bureau of Workers' Compensation Representative Dennis Patterson 216-403-7433 dennis.patterson@bwc.state.oh.us Ron Abrams 216-308-2996 ron.a.2@bwc.state.oh.us Interested in joining our Steering Committee? Contact Scott Cole for more information.

BWC Welcomes Two Workers Compensation Veterans

Bureau of Workers' Compensation Administrator/CEO Stephen Buehrer announced this week the addition of two veteran workers' compensation and insurance industry professionals to leadership roles.

Dale Hamilton will serve as Chief Operating Officer and Kevin Abrams will head BWC's Employer Services Division.

"Dale and Kevin will both bring an impressive amount of experience in workers' compensation," Buehrer said. "Dale's background in the private sector and at BWC has given him a wide-ranging understanding of insurance operations as well as the distinct needs of BWC necessary to provide strong leadership. As a BWC alum and recent member of the Industrial Commission, Kevin is extremely knowledgeable of the system and well prepared to guide the development of policy that will best serve the needs of Ohio employers."

Hamilton is the former head of the BWS's Audit Department and previously served as a COO for Blue Cross, as well as several leadershp roles for Nationwide Insurance and its affiliates. Abrams most recently served as commissioner for the Industrial Commission of Ohio, and previously was assistant law director for BWC from 1988 to 2005.

Attendance - 07/22/11-First Aid & Safety in the Work Place

Active Plumbing Supply
Advocate for Independence
Aexcel Corporation
ALBA Contractors, Inc.
Allied Door Systems
Alloy Precision Technologies
American Controls LLC
American Red Cross
AMG Resources Corporation
Apple Heating & Cooling, Inc.
Aqua Ohio, Inc.
Arcola Building Company Inc.
Around the Clock Home Care
Astro Manufacturing & Design
Avery Dennison - CFF
Avery Dennison - PTD
Beachwood City School District
Bescast, Inc.
Career Tech
Cast Nylons Ltd.
Chardon Metal Products
Chemsultants International
City of Eastlake
City of Kirtland
City of Painesville - Fire Department
City of Painesville - Water Department
City of Painesville - WPCP
Classic Auto Group
Cometic Gasket, Inc.
Component Repair Technologies, Inc.
Concord Township
Core Systems LLC
Crossroads, LCACS
CT Consultants
Damon Morgan Corporation
De Nora Tech R&D
Dyson Corporation
EA Group
Emeritus at Mentor
Empro Job Network (Thomas Emp.)
Environmental Conditioning Systems
Equistar Chemicals, Inc.
Euclid Fish Company
Fluid Line Products
Food For Thought
Fredon Corporation
Frontage Laboratories
Grand Rock
Hanahan & Associates, Inc.
Holden Arboretum
Home Care of Lake County
Hose Master LLC
HZW Environmental Consultants, LLC
Infinity Resources, Inc.
Kalcor Coatings Company
Kerr Lakeside, Inc.
Kline Rostocil Construction Corp.
Klyn Nurseries, Inc.
Lake Business Products
Lake County Educational Service Center
Lake County Nursery
Lake County YMCA
Lake Erie College
Lake Health
Lake Metroparks
Lakeland Community College Retired
Lantern of Madison
Life Safety Enterprises
Life Services
Lincoln Electric
Lintern Corporation
Madison Health Care
Madison Local Schools
Madison Township
MC Sign Company
McNeil Industries
McPhillips Plumbing & HVAC Co.
MedLab Green
Mentor Public Library
Mentor Public Schools
Mentor Television, Inc.
Merritt Woodwork
Midwest Materials
Modern Employment
MT Heat Treating
North American Coating Laboratories
North Perry Village
Northcoast Inc. Recycling Specialists
NOVA Chemicals
Ohio Broach & Machine Co.
Omni Cart Services
Permanent Solution Staffing
Perry Joint Fire District
Perry Township
PET Processors, L.L.C.
Polychem Corporation
Preformed Line Products Company
Progressive Foods (Dunkin Donuts)
Quality Assurance Supported Living Services, Inc.
R.T. & T Machining Inc.
Radix Wire
Ranpak Corp.
Royal Plastics Inc.
SafeAir Contractors, Inc.
The Holden Arboretum
The News-Herald
Tom Schaefer Plumbing, Inc.
Trailer Component Manufacturing
Transfer Express, Inc.
Universal Metal Products
US Endoscopy
USM Precision Products
Utilities Construction Co.
V.L. Chapman Electric
Village of Fairport Harbor
Vine Beverage & Catering, Inc.
Visiting Angels of Northeast Ohio
Wickliffe Country Place
Willoughby Eastlake City Schools

Ohio Fire Chiefs Association & Chief Mike Warner

Concord Township and the Ohio Fire Chiefs' Association have announced the Chief R. Mike Warner from the Concord Township Fire Department was sworn in as the 83rd president.

The Ohio Fire Chiefs' Association is a statewide orgnaization supporting the interests of Ohio's fire chief officers.

Chief Warner has spend most of his adult life in public services. He served in the US Army from 1968 to 1971 and the Ohio Army National Guard from 1978 to 1987. He began his fire service career 35 years ago in Hambden Township. He has been the Concord Fire Chief since 1995.